The DEC Steering Committee is composed of 15 dedicated educators providing service and leadership to the entire Design Educators Community. A “Call for Nominations” is announced annually by March and new committee members are notified by the end of April. The steering committee membership term begins in May and is 3 years with an option to extend for 2 additional years. Each year the number of open spots vary. New members are selected by the current DEC Steering Committee to represent a range of experience, interests, types of programs, and regions. 

Minimum qualifications for consideration to the DEC Steering Committee are experience in teaching visual communication, graphic design, or a related field of study; membership in good standing with AIGA; experience with local chapter board leadership or committee service. 

All DEC Steering Committee members meet once a month for a conference call and annually for a retreat. We support the participation of members at any phase of their career, in parenthood, relocations, and other life events and recognize the challenges associated with these types of transitions. We are a communicative, hard working, collaborative team with roles and tasks that are transparent, open, and transferrable. Members are expected to lead an initiative that will benefit the entire DEC and be active in managing the tasks associated with maintaining the mission and goals of the DEC Steering Committee.

Current Steering Committee Members

Meena Khalili
Steering Committee Co-Chair
Assistant Professor of Design
University of South Carolina
joined 2018

Alberto Rigau
Steering Committee Co-Chair
Estudio Interlínea
joined 2018

Jason Alejandro
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
College of New Jersey
joined 2021

Kareem Collie
UX Design Lead
IBM Global Business Services Strategic Design Team
Austin, TX (via. Claremont, CA)
joined 2019

Victor Davila
Assistant Professor
University of Central Florida
joined 20

Ashley Hairston Doughty
Assistant Professor of Art
Graphic Design & Media Program Coordinator
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
joined 2021

Lee-Sean Huang
Design Education Manager
AIGA National
joined 2018

Katie Krcmarik
Assistant Professor of Practice and Communication Design Coordinator
University of Nebraska–Lincoln
joined 2021

Lisa Mercer
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design & Design for Responsible Innovation
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
joined 2021

Alison Place
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
University of Arkansas
joined 2019

Kaleena Sales
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
​Tennessee State University
joined 2019

Kyuha Shim
Director, Computational Creativity Lab
Assistant Professor, School of Design
Carnegie Mellon University
joined 2021

Rebecca Tegtmeyer
Associate Professor
​Michigan State University
joined 2019

Natalie Tyree
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
Western Kentucky University
joined 2020

Liese Zahabi
Assistant Professor of Design
University of New Hampshire
joined 2019